Page 3 of 5

Re: At the beginning my minority of questions

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:15 pm
by sq5npw
Hi,

Finally, the dht22 sensor worked. I found my fault
- unplugged its ground.
The history Graph was displayed right away.

By the way, I noticed that strange descriptions of fields
appeared in the my Sensor Panel: Legend3 ... Legend6
The Eng V description has disappeared.
I suspect that I had to do something wrong
when I was directly editing the database.

Best Regards,
Jerzy

Re: At the beginning my minority of questions

Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 2:08 pm
by crb
Glad your sensor is now working although I have no idea why unpugging theg round should make a difference. Can you check the data stream wit picocom? Instructions here https://www.skippersmate.co.uk/skippers ... 821#p14024

All legends are defined in the table sm_sensorpanel in the postgres database, might be worth checking there.

Colin

Re: At the beginning my minority of questions

Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:45 pm
by sq5npw
Thank you, Colin,

The dht22 works fine and now it is not the issue.
This sensor did not work because I did not connect it to ground.
I was moved one pin on my breadboard.

I have read chapter 6.3 in the "What To Do With With ISO" pdf.
Unfortunately, I do not understand well the mutual relations of the tables:
sm_sensorpanel, sm_remoteunit.

Especially the meaning of runo from the sm_sensorpanel table and ruid from the sm_remoteunit table.

I would like to transfer the results given by the DHT22 sensor from Legend's fields to the Cabin's
and I do not know how to do it.

I have no idea where the Legend description on my Sensor Panel came from,
because in my table sm_sensorpanel does not have such a raw.
In the Legend column of this table I have only the following values:
spare, Cabin, Home V, Pressure, Cockpit, Mains
The sm_remoteunit table also has no Legend values.

Could you explain it to me?

- Jerzy

Re: At the beginning my minority of questions

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 2:46 pm
by penny
Jerzy

There is a method of updating the Legend somewhere but I'm damned if I can find it ! So the easy way is to edit the local table in Postgres sm_remoteunit.legend. You can match it up by row with the rfcomm number.

The 2 columns you're talking about refer to each other. However, in the case of a multi-function sensor such as a DHT there are 3 rows in sm_sensorpanel each reterring to one of the functions - Dewpt, Humid and Temp. These are distinguished in sm_sensorpanel by the number in sensortype (2, 3 and 4).

Hope this helps. I will post some screenshots if this would help.

Cheers
Penny

Re: At the beginning my minority of questions

Posted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 3:44 pm
by crb
sq5npw wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 2:24 pm
Thanks Colin,

I used HC05 and I managed to run the Voltage SCU without problems.
I connected a small battery and see its voltage.

Unfortunately, I can not see the Voltage Graph Line - I can see the window without a Graph.
Battery voltage is measured non-stop for more than 24 hours.
Is it too little time to generate a Graph or did I make a mistake?

I connected the voltage sensor as described in the pdf file:
"What to Do With A Card / ISO" making manual modifications in the database.

Then, without success, I tried to add the DHT22 temp/humidity sensor in the same way.
Here, before I ask for help, I must investigate whether I have made a mistake myself.

- Jerzy
Jerzy,
As I said earlier your voltage readings are being recorded and also uploaded to the central server. I can't seee why the graph is not being shown. I will be back in the office next week where I have better broadband and will investigate further.
Cheers,
Colin

Re: At the beginning my minority of questions

Posted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:45 pm
by penny
Jerzy - we have found the answer to the issue of the graph not displaying. This looks as though when you updated the local (boat) ranges you were not online and so the duplicate entries needed for the graph which are stored centrally did not get updated. We've done this by hand but it could also be done by using the boat update option again.

However, going back the Legend issue you seem to have half a million legend entries on the graph (very pretty colours but not very helpful I suspect). I will have another look at the data - probably tomorrow and post again.

Cheers
Penny

Re: At the beginning my minority of questions

Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:47 am
by penny
Jerzy

The issue with legends was a couple of rows in the sm_histvolts which had a sensorno of 11. Have deleted these from the server.

The graph seems to have double entries recently - prior to that it looks fine. Have you been working on anything which might have caused double readings ?

Look forward to hearing from you. We are all lucky to be land-based at the moment - blowing about 50+ knots here !

Cheers
Penny

Re: At the beginning my minority of questions

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:08 am
by sq5npw
Penny,

Thank you, thats great news.
But I should say sorry, because at the same time when you were fixing the problem,
I added an additional voltage sensor.
This looks like the cause for showing double values.
Now I have "Home V" and "Eng V" sensors, which measure the voltage
of the same battery (for tests only) with some shift in voltage settings to see difference.
Ultimately, I would like to have three voltage sensors and the corresponding graphs for them.
Will this require changes to the table sm_histvolts on the central server ?
This looks as though when you updated the local (boat) ranges you were not online and so the duplicate entries needed for the graph which are stored centrally did not get updated. We've done this by hand but it could also be done by using the boat update option again.
I would ask for clarification when I am online and when I am not and how can I check it ?

How should I use the option "boat update" ?

PS
My boat is still on land and I'm also happy because the temperatures are still around 5 degrees C (40F) brrrr

- Jerzy

Re: At the beginning my minority of questions

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 7:57 pm
by sq5npw
Hi,

I managed to run the Shore Power sensor without any major problems.
Main Power sensor works and sends expected alerts by e-mail.
Alerts are sent with a 5-minute delay, i.e. a temporary disconnection of
Shore Power Cable, for example to improve it, it will not generate an alarm.

I have only a small comments -
There are two sketches for Main Sensor (mainsrelay.ino) in sketchbook.zip
In one of them, the digital RelayPin has the value 3.
This is not as described in the "Skipper's Mate Assembly Notes" pdf file,
where on page 16 the connection of the relay to pin 2 is shown
(blue wire between Relay and Shore Power Sensor Control Unit Boat Power)
When I connected the relay to pin 3, everything started working.
I have not tested the second sketch.
The second -
On the three empty pins of the relay you need a jumper,
as shown in the bottom left picture on page 21

- Jerzy

Re: At the beginning my minority of questions

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:05 am
by penny
sq5npw wrote:
Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:08 am
Penny,

Thank you, thats great news.
But I should say sorry, because at the same time when you were fixing the problem,
I added an additional voltage sensor.
This looks like the cause for showing double values.

Jerzy - in order to run more than one sensor of a given type you need to change the sketch and upload again . This is a quote from the README in the sketches zip - you need to increment the SensorNo for your 2nd voltage sensor:

Each sketch except "mainsrelay" follows the same overall pattern. They
are all designed for use with an Arduino UNO.

No modification is required unless you have multiples of one sensor type
or you wish to change the pin to which the sensor is attached.

Each has a header comprising the following:

RemoteNo - Not currently used.
SenseType - Self explanatory. Do not change.
*******************************************************************
SensorNo - Sensor no. within type. Probably the only change required
Simply increment for each sensor of a given type.</style>
*******************************************************************
PinNo - The pin on the Arduino to which the sensor is attached. Don't
change this unless you have a good reason.


Now I have "Home V" and "Eng V" sensors, which measure the voltage
of the same battery (for tests only) with some shift in voltage settings to see difference.
Ultimately, I would like to have three voltage sensors and the corresponding graphs for them.
Will this require changes to the table sm_histvolts on the central server ?
Jerzy - will check but I don't think so - think its dependent on the sketch change mentioned above

Jerzy - do you have 3 battery banks ? Just interested
This looks as though when you updated the local (boat) ranges you were not online and so the duplicate entries needed for the graph which are stored centrally did not get updated. We've done this by hand but it could also be done by using the boat update option again.
I would ask for clarification when I am online and when I am not and how can I check it ?
Jerzy - to check whether you are online use (obviously from the boat menus - Broadband / Check Broadband Connection
How should I use the option "boat update" ?
Jerzy - not sure what you mean here. Do you mean, from the Boat menus - System / Apply Updates ? If so, there are details in the Skipper's Mate Manual - Section 7 Chapter 21. However I don't think there are any updates since you took the ISO but if you let me know what version your ISO is I will check.
PS
My boat is still on land and I'm also happy because the temperatures are still around 5 degrees C (40F) brrrr
Jerzy - not much warmer here ! At least its no longer blowing 50-70 knots though. Penny
- Jerzy